Code Lists

Code Lists

ASC X12 assists several organizations in the maintenance and distribution of code lists external to the X12 family of standards. The lists are maintained by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC), and committees that meet during standing X12 meetings.

Health Care Code Lists

> Claim Adjustment Reason Codes (CARC)

> Remittance Advice Remark Codes (RARC)

> Claim Status Category Codes

> Claim Status Codes

> Service Type Codes

> Health Care Services Decision Reason Codes

> Health Care Provider Taxonomy Code Set

> Provider Characteristics Codes

> Insurance Business Process Application Error Codes

Health Insurance Exchange Code Lists

> Payment Type Codes

> Report Type Codes

Property & Casualty Code Lists

> Several EDI-Related Property & Casualty Code Lists



Code Lists for Purchase

Code Lists can be purchased as electronic CSV files, email change alert subscription, or printed lists.